Member for Tamworth Kevin Anderson is encouraging the local community to nominate inspiring women for the 2017 NSW Women of the Year Awards.


Mr Anderson said our local region is abundant with women who achieve extraordinary things and the awards are a way of recognising their contribution to our community.


“Our local area is spoilt with amazing women who lead the way in industry and the community and we should take the opportunity to pause and recognise the outstanding job they do.


“Each year the nominations that come forward remind us that there are so many local women making a difference to the lives of people around them.


Award categories include the Premier’s Award for Woman of the Year; A.H. Beard’s Community Hero Award; Harvey Norman’s Young Woman of the Year Award; REX Airlines’ Regional Woman of the Year Award; and Aboriginal Woman of the Year Award.


This year also marks the introduction of a new award category, the NSW Business Woman of the Year, recognising excellence in business in NSW.


Winners will join an honour roll of women including domestic violence survivor and founder of the Beauty Bank, Jennifer Armstrong; leading researcher in microbiology, Dr Dharmica Mistry; advocate for Aboriginal children, Dana Clarke and founder of the Australian Lebanese Foundation, Professor Fadia Ghossayn.


Mr Anderson said nominations are open now and will close on 10 January 2017.


“If you know of a woman in our community that is doing something outstanding then I encourage you to nominate her now at .”


A ceremony for the 2017 winners will be held on 8 March 2017 with NSW Premier Mike Baird.


Contact Our Office

13 Fitzroy St
Tamworth NSW 2340

Postal Address
PO Box 1740
Tamworth NSW 2340

(02) 6766 1422

(02) 6766 6765


The Nationals - For Regional Australia