Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Roads Kevin Anderson MP today announced funding for local safety projects in the Blue Mountains as part of the NSW Government’s $1.6 million Community Road Safety Grants Program.


Local organisation Blackheath Area Neighbourhood Centre has been awarded a safety grant to deliver road safety projects that will help increase road safety awareness and support safer road use in the community.


The grant will be used to create a short film about road safety to encourage safe pedestrian skills amongst older residents and empower a safer community.


“This is great news for the Blue Mountains community and there is nothing more important than safety on our roads,” Mr Anderson said.


“The NSW Government is committed to supporting local organisations that deliver vital work to help keep our communities safe.


“We all have a role to play when it comes to road safety but there are some special organisations in our communities that go above and beyond this call.


“This safety grant will allow Blackheath Area Neighbourhood Centre to develop engaging road safety projects with other local groups and encourage road safety awareness in the Blue Mountains community.


“Our communities have specific road safety issues that can be addressed through local campaigns or events so these grants will really give a helping hand in spreading important road safety messages.”


The NSW Government encouraged all members of the Blue Mountains community to play their part and get involved in local road safety events.


The Community Road Safety Grants Program builds on a number of other road safety initiatives being delivered by the NSW Government including the Safety Town website for primary school students and children, Safer Drivers Course for ‘L’ platers and the Plan B Campaign for adults.


More information about the grants is available at


Contact Our Office

13 Fitzroy St
Tamworth NSW 2340

Postal Address
PO Box 1740
Tamworth NSW 2340

(02) 6766 1422

(02) 6766 6765


The Nationals - For Regional Australia