Member for Tamworth Kevin Anderson today welcomed the NSW Government’s commitment to boost Isolated Patients Travel and Accommodation Assistance Scheme (IPTAAS) rebates for patients accessing not-for-profit accommodation.


Mr Anderson said IPTAAS subsidies assist patients who must travel long distances to access specialist medical treatment.


“Regional patients can spend weeks away from home while they receive treatment. For these patients, the costs associated with accommodation - especially in cities - can be a real drain on the hip pocket,” Mr Anderson said.


“In September, the Government increased the IPTAAS subsidies available to patients accessing for-profit commercial accommodation, like hotels and motels, to help cover the costs of longer stays.


“I’m pleased that from February next year, eligible patients can also receive increased subsidies for longer stays in not-for-profit accommodation facilities such as Ronald McDonald House.


“This is in recognition of the fact that not-for-profit accommodation providers support patients through their treatment program in a home-like environment, often over long periods of time.”


The increased subsidy rate for patients staying in not-for-profit accommodation will increase to $65 a night for single rooms and $85 a night for double rooms for stays of eight nights or more per financial year.


This represents an increase of more than 40 per cent to the existing not-for-profit accommodation subsidies - and a $2.7 million investment per year by the NSW Government.


The subsidy for the first seven nights in not-for-profit facilities will remain at $43 for a single room and $60 per night for a double room - the same subsidy available at commercial facilities for shorter stays.


IPTAAS subsidies are available to patients who live in regional areas and travel at least 100km one way, or a cumulative weekly distance of at least 200km.

Contact Our Office

13 Fitzroy St
Tamworth NSW 2340

Postal Address
PO Box 1740
Tamworth NSW 2340

(02) 6766 1422

(02) 6766 6765


The Nationals - For Regional Australia