Member for Tamworth Kevin Anderson is encouraging the local community to nominate inspiring women for the 2018 NSW Women of the Year Awards.


Mr Anderson said our local region is abundant with women who achieve extraordinary things and the awards are a way of recognising their contribution to our community.


“Our local area is spoilt with amazing women who lead the way in industry and the community and we should take the opportunity to pause and recognise the outstanding job they do.


“Each year the nominations that come forward remind us that there are so many local women making a difference to the lives of people around them. Outstanding women who have received awards in the past include Narelle Burke, Robbie Sefton and Loanna Single.


“The Awards are in their seventh year and are an excellent initiative to recognise the many women and young women who are leading the way in their chosen fields, and making outstanding contributions to local life.”


The 2018 Awards categories this year are; NSW Premier’s Woman of the Year, NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year, Community Hero, Harvey Norman’s Young Woman of the Year, Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year, NSW Business Woman of the Year Award, First State Super Lifetime Achievement Award.


NSW Minister for Women, Tanya Davies said the Awards form part of the NSW Government’s commitment to building an equitable state for all.


“I want NSW to lead the way in building an inclusive and safe society where all women are valued and respected, can contribute meaningfully, and can enjoy the rights, freedoms, and protections to which everyone in NSW is entitled,” Mrs Davies said.


Nominations for 2018 close Monday, 18 December 2017. For further information or to submit a nomination via the online portal please visit: .


The Awards ceremony will be held at the International Convention Centre Sydney on the morning of International Women’s Day - Thursday, 8 March 2018.

Contact Our Office

13 Fitzroy St
Tamworth NSW 2340

Postal Address
PO Box 1740
Tamworth NSW 2340

(02) 6766 1422

(02) 6766 6765


The Nationals - For Regional Australia