Member for Tamworth Kevin Anderson today welcomed a $46 million program to boost student learning through better technology in regional and remote public schools.


“All 41 public schools in the Tamworth electorate will share in the Connecting Country Schools program which will upgrade schools’ Wi-Fi access and internet capacity,” Mr Anderson said.


“We live in a digital age so it’s vital that we create an environment where students are engaged in a modern education system. This upgrade will allow for wireless speeds four times faster than currently available.


“High-quality internet capacity is increasingly important for effective learning in today’s classrooms, where digital resources are a vital component of education.


“To ensure schools make best use of their upgraded wireless and internet capability, they will be required to make an application and consult with their school community to identify how they intend to use the technology to improve teaching and learning.”


“Not only will this increased technological capacity benefit students, it will promote even more innovative classroom practices among teachers.


“There is a learning gap between rural and metropolitan students which needs to be addressed. Country students deserve educational infrastructure that is as good as their city cousins.”


The Connecting Country Schools program will invest up to $46 million to boost wireless access and internet capacity in up to 13,000 learning spaces in around 900 regional schools.


Connecting Country Schools builds on the achievements made since 2013 under the NSW Government’s $80 million Rural and Remote Education Blueprint. The Blueprint used the benefits of technology to establish Aurora College, Australia’s first virtual selective high school giving country students access to specialist subjects and opportunities not available at their local school.

Contact Our Office

13 Fitzroy St
Tamworth NSW 2340

Postal Address
PO Box 1740
Tamworth NSW 2340

(02) 6766 1422

(02) 6766 6765


The Nationals - For Regional Australia